Topeka Base Ball Club -1909

TopekaBaseball Club



Butch Nieman 1943 45 Boston Braves


Terry Bettis 1970

Terry Bettis 1970


Harland Coffman,1948



The American Legion Post 160 baseball team from Silver Lake, Kansas is shown in this photograph from 1982. The team won its fourth consecutive Class AA American Legion state championship by defeating Norton, 10-0, in the title game played in Elkhart.

Seated at the front in the photo is batboy Will Burton. Kneeling behind him are (l to r): Kasey Kirkwood; Brent Lilley; Monte Ellis; Gary Workman; Kevin Scott; Deron Johnson; John Cowan; and, Steve Brady. Standing are (l to r): Mike Burton (manager); David Kruger; Bruce Ferguson; Tim Cunningham; Jess Adams; Joe Booth; Brian Sage; Scott Sage; and, Sheldon Pokorney (coach). Digital reproduction of the photo was accomplished through a joint project sponsored by the Kansas Historical Society and the Shawnee County Baseball Hall of Fame.

Print this Item

Date: 1982

About this item

Item Number: 309880
Call Number: 2015-117
KSHS Identifier: DaRT ID: 309880

To order images and/or obtain permission to use them commercially, please contact the KSHS Reference Desk at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or 785-272-8681, ext. 117.
For more information see the Copyright and Permission FAQ.